Workforce Development / Continuing Education
WDCE Policies & Procedures
Registration fees are set by the NC Legislature and are subject to change without notice.
1-24 hours = $70
25-50 hours = $125
51+ hours = $180
Other fees (parking, malpractice, accident insurance, lab fees, etc.) may also be required for certain courses.
Registration fees may be waived for certain classes for fire service, rescue, and law enforcement personnel. Eligibility for fee waiver is contingent on authorized agency affiliation and authorized groups, dictated by North Carolina General Statutes and the State Board of Community College Code.
Self-supporting classes have a pro-rated cost per individual or group and are not eligible for fee waiver.
Withdrawal and Refund Policy
The college refund policy is established by the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS) and is subject to change without notice.
All refunds will be issued as checks from the Business Office payable directly to the student and mailed to the current address in our system. It typically takes 3-4 weeks for your refund check to be received in the mail.
Refund Eligibility - Students are eligible for refunds in the following situations:
- 100% - If the student officially withdraws from a course(s) BEFORE the FIRST day of the course. Students must notify the Workforce Development Office of their intent to withdraw. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org to request a refund and a staff member will follow up with you.
- 75% - If a student officially withdraws from a course(s) ON/AFTER the FIRST day of the course and BEFORE the official 10% point of the course(s). Please email email@example.com to request a refund and a staff member will follow up with you.
- Cancelled Classes - A full refund will be given for classes canceled by the college. Students do not have to request these refunds.
NO REFUNDS will be issued in the following situations:
- The student drops AFTER the official 10% point of the course.
- Courses offered as a self-supporting course.
Absences disrupt students’ progress in a course and diminish the quality of group interaction. Generally, students must attend 80% of the class to attain credit for completion of a Workforce Development class. However, a more stringent attendance policy may apply for courses given for certification, licensure, or teacher renewal. Students should refer to their specific course syllabus for the attendance policy for that course.
- Students may transfer from one course to another during a given semester if neither course has passed the 10% point of total scheduled course hours.
- Students must request a class transfer in writing by sending an email to firstname.lastname@example.org . A staff member will follow up with you once the request has been received.
- Requests received after the 10% point will not be considered, and a refund will not be given.