Medication Aide

Medication Aide for Adult Care Homes (15 Hours)

Pre-Requisite:

Have high school diploma or high school equivalency
• Be 18 years of age
• Have a SS Card (name must match a government-issued photo ID)
• Have a government-issued photo ID (name must match SS Card).

This class prepares unlicensed staff to take the North Carolina Adult Care Home Medication Test, successful completion of which enables them to give medications in adult care homes, assisted living facilities and group homes. Course content includes 15 hours of skills training required by the State of North Carolina. Students are taught how to properly administer  medications. Upon successful completion of the course, students are eligible to be listed on the North Carolina Adult Care Home Medication Aide Listing and to sit for the competency test (which is an additional $25 and done on your own).  Call 336-506-4200 or 336-506-4219 for more information. Instructor: Janet Byrd, Mary Corbin

This is a 15-hour class and students MUST attend all 15 hours of the class to receive completion credit.

This class does not qualify you to be a Medication Aide in a skilled nursing facility; to work there, you need a course that is 24 hours long

Instructor Location: ACC Hours: 15 Fee: $73  
J. Byrd 71131  6/4-6/18 F  9 am-2:30 pm  PAY BY 6/1 FULL
M. Corbin 72501  7/6-7/15 TTH  4-8:15 pm PAY BY 5/31 Register Now_Medication Aide

Medication Aide for Long Term Care (24 Hours)

Prerequisites:
HS diploma or high school equivalency
• Be 18 years of age
Current listing with the NC  Division of Health Service Regulation as a Nurse Aide I (with no substantial findings of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property)
• Have a SS Card (name must match a government-issued photo ID)
• Have a government-issued photo ID (name must match SS Card).

This 24 hour, NC Board of Nursing (NCBON) approved Medication Aide class is designed to prepare non-licensed personnel with the skills required by the NCBON to practice as a Medication Aide in long-term care/skilled nursing facilities within the state of North Carolina only. This course involves class and lab practice. The course content covers the six rights of medication administration, accuracy, infection control, patient's rights and scope of practice. Upon successful completion, students are eligible to take the N.C. State Board Medication Aide Exam for skilled nursing homes (which is an additional $59 and done on your own through PearsonVue).   Call 336-506-4200 or 336-506-4219 for more information.  Instructor: Shawnya Toole, RN

This is a 24-hour class and students MUST attend all 24 hours of the class to receive completion credit.

This is not the same as the Med Aide for Assisted Living Centers and Rest Homes.  See the 15 Hour course for more information on that course.

Location: ACC Hours: 15 Fee: $73  
72532     8/17-10/21 T    5:30-8:40 pm PAY BY 8/12 Register Now_Medication Aide_LTC