ACC Presents Academic Awards to Students

Alamance Community College presented academic awards to students at a ceremony held April 27 at the Vailtree Event and Conference Center in Haw River. Academic honors were selected by a consensus of department instructors. Student club honors were made by faculty advisors.

Academic Award winners

Academic Award winners



Advertising & Graphic Design

Meet the Designers Page Layout/Explorer Magazine – Samuel Thompson

2016 NC State Fair Garden Poster, Enchanted Garden – Michaela Woodward

2016 NC State Fair Garden Poster, Bibbidi Bobbidi Bloom – Leah Medeiros

Explorer 2017-2018 Magazine CoverDaniel Lineberry

Criminal Justice

Student of the Year – Stephanie Flynn

Dental Assisting

O. Ray McKenzie Outstanding Students – Maritza Vences, Sandi Clements

Information Technology

Outstanding Student – Jacob Miller


Academic Achievement in Music – Anh T. Nguyen


Academic Excellence Awards – Selena Zobro, Kiara Dean


Students of the Year – Robert Higgins, Dylan Naylor


Exceptional Performance in Psychology – Emily Herry


Student of the Year – Kiara Dean

Natural Sciences

Science Achievement Award – Mehran Nikakhtar


Service Award – Anna Noelle Grissino

Academic Achievement Award – Mehran Nikakhtar

CCP (Career and College Promise) Awards

CTECH Student of the Year – Samantha Luu

Graham High School Student of the Year – Alexia Matias

Clover Garden Student of the Year – Marilyn Hohl

River Mill Academy Student of the Year – Nia Mebane

River Mill Academy Student of the Year – Miranda McCormick

Burlington Christian Academy Student of the Year – Karissa Teer

Visual Arts – CCP Awards

Burlington Women’s Club Awards

Color Photography/First Place – Megan Obranovich

Color Photography/Honorable Mention – Luke Foushee

B&W Photography/Third Place – Raiza Espana

B&W Photography/Honorable Mention – Johan Ochoa

B&W Photography/Honorable Mention – Stephen Parson

Digitally-Enhanced Photography/Second Place – Katie Tuggle

Digitally-Enhanced Photography/Honorable Mention – Blake Blough

Club winners

Club winners




Leadership in Music – Ethan Reinheimer

Aikido Club

Outstanding Club Members – Demi Covington, Melissa Dixon,  Carlos Mosqueda

FLORA-Horticulture Club/NALP NCLC Awards

Sales Presentation – John Hawkins

Arboriculture Techniques – Joel Deuterman

Irrigation Design – John Hawkins

Landscape Lighting – Paul Gulledge

Plant Problem Diagnosis – Elizabeth Trott

TCIA Awards/Belayed Scramble – John Hawkins

History Club

Exceptional Service Award – Joseph Satterwhite

Dedication Award – Christopher Hawkes, Carrie Weber

International Friendship Club

Outstanding Club Members – Taylor Thomas, Carla Hernandez

Math and Physics Club

Outstanding Club Member – John Lawrence

Medical Assisting Club

Member of the Year – Jovon Hinton

Mock Trial Team

Leadership Awards – Daniel Satterfield, Veronica Wisnewski, Nathan Bodenheimer, Kiara Dean

Music and Drama Club

Effective Club Representative – Olivia Foster

Event Organizer & Director – Daniel Slaughter

PTK and Sigma Psi winners

PTK and Sigma Psi winners


Phi Theta Kappa

Outstanding Leadership Award – Chelsey Nichols

Outstanding Officer Award – Areli Morales

Exceptional Service Award – Julia Perez

Exemplary Workmanship Award – Taylor Thomas

Exceptional Performance Award – Johanna Ibanez Nolasco

Sigma Psi

Outstanding Club Members of the Year – Edith Smith, Meredith Hassler, Amanda Farr

Spanish Club

Outstanding Leadership and Contribution to the Club – Edith S. Smith


Senior Ambassadors – Demi Covington, Carlos Mosqueda, Abigail Garcia-Baza, Alejandro Torres, Trevor Slosek, Melissa Dixon, Taylor Thomas

Student Government Association Excellence Award

SGA Representatives of the Year – Anna Briggs, Jovon Hinton

SGA Advisor of the Year – Jaime O’Sullivan